Guns and Devs

photo by Kotaku.

Kotaku pointed out an interesting question. Guns are common ground in most video games. But what about the developers behind those games, do they really have any kind of real world experience with weapons?

Of course, experience with actual firearms have impacted the work of some game designers, and haven’t impact the work of others. Some designers have a great interest in weapons, while others are only interested in how they impact game design. Opinions vary person by person.

This kind of reminds me of an older discussion about games and violence; why is so common violence in games and so on. I have no answers for that [actually, I’m not even sure if there is so much violence at all, but…], but I’d like to add someone else’s questionings. The Life Of A Pacifist Is Often Fraught With Conflict is a Bento Smile’s game in which the player is presented with how violence may me a little more present in modern games that it have ever been.

