Indie game of the week

Jamestown - Legend of the lost colony

Long time without posting, but here I am again. Today I gonna write about Jamestown – legend of the lost colony.

I must say that I was really impressed with this game. The visual is stunning, it has an amazing gameplay and it’s really challenging like an oldschool game should be.

Jamestown screenshot 1

Really nice pixel art here

I really felt like playing a game from the old times made by and large company with this one. I can’t complain of almost nothing in this game. Well,  there is a story that I couldn’t care (and that you can also open an alternative story using a lot of points…that I unlocked and played again to see it, but I couldn’t pay any attention again for it. Oh well…), but I don’t think that’s exactly a problem in the game (maybe the story is good and I’m just to lazy and too enchanted with the gameplay and art of the game to lose my time reading the story). I would say that’s even a positive point to the game, you are not forced to see the story, but you need to keep a button pressed for some time to skip it, avoiding you to skip a scene by accident.

So maybe the only thing I can complain in the game is the short size of it. You have only 5 stages to play, each one taking about 5 minutes if you don’t die, so you will probably end the story mode in 40 minutes or less.

The game tries to compensate this problem with a lot of extra small challenges reusing a part of the scenarios of the story mode. Those challenges can take your attention for sometime, being really fun to play and hard to complete, but after a while it feels a little repetitive.

But back to the nice things of the game. Something that makes the gameplay a little longer is the possibility to unlock new ships as you advance in the story, each ship having a different way to play and strategies, making you want to play some stages again to test your new ship.

And that’s pretty much it. Like you would expect from this type of game you have a ton of enemies and bullets on the screen to avoid and destroy and a small overkiller ship to do the job.

Resume

If you don’t care to pay 10 bucks on a short game, it totally worth it for the experience.

Now, the official trailer of the game:

